top of page


The Prairie Oysters0001.JPG
Tony Bonnici (Vocals, Bass)
The Prairie Oysters0003.JPG
Dave Miles (Vocals, Guitars)
Mick Evans (Drums)
The Prairie Oysters0002.JPG
Ed Bates (Pedal Steel Guitar)



​“When it comes to country music, The Prairie Oysters are the real deal. There’s no winning formula to the band’s successes. They play what feels right and it works”.Strat Pavlis ; Former 3RRR presenter, and Co-Founder of The Breakfasters.

The Prairie Oysters is a country rock band formed in Melbourne in 2005. With their roots deeply planted in blues, and country music, the band has a unique sound that seamlessly blends elements of rock and roll with a twangy, southern vibe.

Tony Bonnici and Dave Miles form the creative nucleus of the band and features Mick Evans on drums and Ed Bates on pedal steel when touring and recording as a four piece band.

Tony Bonnici brings a strong sense of melody and storytelling to the band as vocalist and bassist. His emotive singing and driving beats and powerful rhythms provide the perfect foundation for the band's high-energy sound.

Dave Miles, the band's guitarist and vocalist, adds a dynamic energy to The Prairie Oysters' live performances. His skilled, edgy guitar playing has earned him a reputation as one of the most unique players in the country rock scene.

Mick Evans on drums and Ed Bates on pedal steel add a level of musicianship and a polished sound to the band. The combination of these musicians creates a powerful sound that will leave you tapping your feet and humming along.

The Prairie Oysters can perform as a duo or a full band, depending on the setting, venue or the type of event. They have become a staple in the country rock scene, and continue to tour and release new music, gaining a dedicated fan base with their heartfelt lyrics and catchy melodies.


The Prairie Oysters have always stumped the Australian country music scene.  It’s really hard to pin a label on them as they skirt the edges of the commercial and alternative country circles; And they wouldn’t want it any other way.

Born out of a love for good, honest music, the four members of The Prairie Oysters have been performing, writing and recording their own brand of home grown grass roots music for over 40 years. 


The band’s loyal fan base is as diverse as their music. Audiences of all ages are treated to a diverse repertoire of original music and cover tunes by their musical heroes including the pioneers of the mid 20th century such has Hank Williams and Johnny Cash to the outlaws of the 60s and 70s including Waylon Jennings and Merle Haggard to legends like John Fogarty, Steve Earle, Gram Parsons, Dale Watson and Ray Wylie Hubbard; to name but a few. 



​The band have gained respect and critical acclaim for their original material and live shows with awards including:


  • Country Music Guild of Australasia Most Popular Group 2007, 2008, 2009.

  • Best Group Victorian National Country Music Awards 2010

  • Best Band Album Victorian National Country Music Awards 2011

  • $10,000 People's Choice Prize Australian Independent Artist Awards Sydney 2011

  • Golden Guitar Nomination 2013 for Best Single "When The Dust Settles"


The Prairie Oysters acknowledge the traditional custodians of the land on which we work and play. This land is their traditional Country and we pay our respects to elders past, present and emerging.



bottom of page